Staying Ripped Year Round

 

How do you stay ripped all year round? Is it genetics or do you really train hard and eat healthy all the time?

Genetics always plays into the development of anybody’s physique and it does dictate the type of muscle growth you can make when training. Honestly if I sat at home and ate junk food all day long without working out I would not be ripped whatsoever. I do have good genetics but I still have to train very hard and eat healthy to stay ripped all year round. I follow the formula of training 4 days a week and eating good 5 days a week. I have my cheat meals on the weekends within moderation. My cheat meals are like a reward for me eating healthy throughout the week. My training consists of super-setting all of my weight-training exercises and I do cardio about 3 days a week. I train 2 body-parts per day when weight training and my cardio consists of running 3 miles a day at an 8 minute mile pace.

I also run sprints once a week too which is great for abs and legs. I know my body really well so eating this way and training this way works very well for me and allows me to stay at 4 percent body-fat all year round. And then when I am getting ready for a photo-shoot I will cut my carbs completely 5 days out and reduce my calorie intake to help me get down to 2 percent body-fat for my photo-shoot. The main thing I would tell you is to find a diet and training plan that works well for your body type and your metabolism. What works for me may not work for you to help you get ripped. If you can understand your body and what works for you then you are a step ahead of attaining your fitness goals.

How important are carbs in attaining your fitness goals in getting lean?

Carbs consumption is very important in attaining your fitness goal. For some reason people seem to be afraid of consuming carbs as if they are going to gain an enormous amount of weight. Without carbs in your system you are literally like a walking zombie. Imagine a car without gasoline that is the same thing with no carbs in your system. You need carbs to be able to function throughout the day and in the gym. The main thing about carbs consumption is making sure you consume them between the morning and afternoon time.

I wouldn’t advise anybody to consume carbs late at night as it typically stores in your body as fat at that particular time. If you are eating 5 small meals a day I would advise most of my clients to consume their carbs from Meal 1 to Meal 3 which I believe should be completely sufficient. The main thing is consuming a balanced healthy diet with sufficient carbs, fats and proteins. You should never zero out your carbs as that will be very counterproductive to your fitness goals and will slow your metabolism completely.

                

Source:  musclepharm.com

This entry was posted in Body Building/Fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment